About Us

The University of Toronto Stroke Program was founded in 2009 and is a collaborative effort amongst three major teaching hospitals—St. Michael`s Hospital, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, and Toronto Western Hospital (of the University Health Network). We are considered a university-wide program, comprised of stroke neurologists, stroke nurses/clinical nurse specialists, research coordinators, research assistants, and regional stroke partners.

The UTSP combines the resources, strengths, and patient populations of three separate stroke centers to further advance research and practices in stroke care. We are involved in a variety of projects that cover the three regional stroke centers, including system-based quality improvement initiatives, and diagnostic and treatment studies.

We strive to be an international leader in stroke clinical practice, research, and education.